Handling multiple Cloud accounts

Handling multiple Cloud accounts

4 posts / 0 new
Last post
mike.ryan@northstudio.com's picture
mike.ryan
Points: 1
Handling multiple Cloud accounts

Any suggestions on how to deal with multiple Acquia Cloud accounts with Dev Desktop? I have an account for my own sites, and now I have a contract where the client created an account for me (email under their domain). I'd like to deal with their sites through Dev Desktop, without blowing away anything regarding my own.

If in Settings I switch to the client account, will that affect my existing sites? I.e., if I then switch back to my own account will everything be back exactly where I left it?

Alternatively, can I install a second instance of Dev Desktop for this client (setting non-competing ports, of course)?

Status: 
Resolved (feature request)
dmyburgh's picture
david.myburgh
Points: 99

I don't really know what would happen if you switched the login details. I suspect it would remove the list of sites from the previous account and show the list from the new one. If that actually deletes/breaks any cloned site, I have no idea.

I would recommend installing a second instance of DevDesktop. I've never done this personally, but I've been told before that its possible.

mike.ryan@northstudio.com's picture
mike.ryan
Points: 1

Well, I've asked the client to add my regular email to their subscriptions, and they've agreed, so I'll be able to use Dev Desktop in the normal fashion. Still, it'd be nice to have direct support in the client - a dropdown to switch among various accounts, or a grouping of sites by account in the left sidebar... Yeah, probably a lot of work for a narrow edge case, but worth asking...

Thanks!

Status Change: 
Resolved (feature request)
rob.p.powell@gmail.com's picture
rob.p.powell
Points: 0

Well I took a risk and changed my account hoping that DD would look for new subscription and not delete old ones. To my surprise, it ignored my new credentials. I closed and opened, I reloaded my key, and even changed my name but it never used my new credentials when looking back at acquia for my subscriptions.

It would be a great feature to switch to different accounts.